Our History

Drachengas Group’s history is closely connected with that of its founder, Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Costantino Dragan – a Romanian by birth, a European and cosmopolitan at heart. It all began in Austria where he started with a small business in the Liquid Petroleum Gas field.

1954 marks the birthing hour of Propangas AG. The distribution of propane gas in blue steel cylinders with filling weights of 5 kg, 11 kg and 33 kg was carried out under the name Drachengas. The cylinderes were primarily used in households for cooking and water heating since pipeline-bound/grid-bound energy wasn’t commonly spread.

Due to the economic upturn and rise in demand for Drachengas, the company determinedly established a network of dealers to enable the nationwide supply of all of Austria.

In the 1970s, propane gas was increasingly being used as an alternative to common heating fuels. Modern heating technologies and propane’s high calorific value permitted an economic use of this eco-friendly energy source. Outdoor tanks were being installed under and above ground to keep up with the increasing amount of energy needed at a reasonable price. Demand for installation, service, and technical assistance skyrocketed with the rapid development of the fuel pump business. To that end, Propangas AG decided to set up sales facilities with employees trained especially for these operations throughout Austria.

By now Propangas AG is a member of Veroniki Holding. Every day Veroniki Holding supplies hundred-thousand private bottled gas and gas tank clients as well as industries and public institutions in seven countries.

The Drachengas brand is synonymous with efficiency, safety, and service quality within the European Liquid Petroleum Gas market (LPG market). Serving our customers and fulfilling their wishes and demands is our top priority.

Unsere Geschichte

Die Geschichte von Drachengas ist eng mit derjenigen seines Gründers verbunden, Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Costantino Dragan – gebürtiger Rumäne, Europäer und Kosmopolit aus Berufung. Alles begann in Österreich, wo er mit einem kleinen Betrieb auf dem Gebiet des Flüssiggases aktiv war.

1954 ist die Geburtsstunde der Propangas AG. Die Auslieferung von Propangas in blauen Stahlflaschen mit 5 kg, 11 kg und 33 kg Füllgewicht erfolgt unter dem Namen Drachengas. Die Flaschen wurden hauptsächlich im Haushalt zum Kochen und zur Warmwasserbereitung verwendet, da leitungsgebundene Energien kaum  verbreitet waren.

Durch den wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung und die steigende Nachfrage nach Drachengas wurde zielstrebig ein Händlernetz aufgebaut, um die flächendeckende Belieferung in ganz Österreich zu gewährleisten.

In den 1970er Jahren wurde Propangas verstärkt als Alternative zu den herkömmlichen Heizenergien eingesetzt. Moderne Heizungstechnologien und der hohe Heizwert von Propangas ermöglichten einen wirtschaftlichen Einsatz dieser umweltfreundlichen Energie. Da immer größere Energiemengen zu einem vernünftigen Preis benötigt wurden, installierte man Ober- und Unterflurbehälter im Freien. Mit der rasanten Entwicklung des Tankgasgeschäftes wurde auch die Anforderung an Montage, Service und technische Beratung immer größer. Daher entschloss sich die Propangas AG in ganz Österreich eigene Verkaufsniederlassungen mit speziell für diesen Geschäftsbereich ausgebildeten Mitarbeitern aufzubauen.

Mittlerweile ist die Propangas AG Mitglied der Veroniki Holding. Die Veroniki Holding beliefert in sieben Ländern jeden Tag hunderttausende private Flaschengas- und Tankgaskunden, sowie Industrien und öffentliche Institutionen.

Im europäischen Flüssiggas-Markt steht der Name Drachengas für Effizienz, Sicherheit und Qualität der Leistungen. Die Nähe zu unseren Kunden und die Erfüllung ihrer Wünsche und Anforderungen haben für uns höchste Priorität.